June Foray, voice of Rocky, Natasha, Granny and countless cartoon voices, dead at 99

Oh, darn it. It seems fitting that the moment I go on summer vacation is when I get the news that legendary cartoon voice actress June Foray has died, age 99

I have fond memories of spending countless summer afternoons and Saturday mornings tuned in to various Jay Ward and Warner Bros. cartoons, all featuring Foray’s voice. And you know, as a kid I was ridiculed by my classmates in school for liking Rocky and Bullwinkle, but in the long run it turned out I was the one with the good taste. These cartoons are now considered classics, and Foray was pretty much the star of those shows.

Foray was the top female cartoon voice artist of all time, that is pretty much accepted. She was the voice of Rocky the Flying Squirrel and Natasha in the Rocky and Bullwinkle cartoons, and also did lots of work for Warner Bros., starring as Granny in the Tweety and Sylvester cartoons, and as Witch Hazel opposite Bugs Bunny. And those were just the most famous roles — she voiced a ton of characters over the years including ones you may not expect, like Cindy Lou Who in the cartoon version of Dr. Seuss’ How the Grinch Stole Christmas.

My generation definitely had it better than this one when it came to cartoons, that is for sure. Anyway, RIP June Foray.

