The news today is the UFC is coming to Edmonton, Sept. 9!


Well, the big announcement was made today. After years of rumors and waiting, the UFC has announced it is finally having a show in Edmonton! It is UFC 216, happening Sept. 9 at Rogers Place. 

This pay-per-view is the first event under the UFC banner in Edmonton, although it should be noted there was a WEC 49 event in the city back in June 2010. WEC were owned by the same company, Zuffa, that owns UFC.

No cards have been announced for this latest event yet. I’d be interested in finding out who’s fighting before I shell out for tickets. If this card is any good, I’m thinking I ought to maybe make the drive there myself to see the fights (assuming I’m still living here in Sask.).

All in all, these are exciting times for a city still enjoying the Edmonton Oilers playoff run in their brand new, major-league arena downtown. 

As an aside, this news is yet another example of why ESPN is failing! They are ignoring the interests and tastes of a wide range of sports fans. If you are a fan of sports like mixed martial arts, or hockey, or NASCAR or horse racing or other sports like that, then good luck finding coverage anymore on ESPN! I guess ESPN still shows soccer games occasionally, but these others? Tough luck! I am willing to bet a big reason why so many people aren’t watching ESPN anymore is because they are disenfranchised fans of these very same sports. For them, ESPN truly is a waste of money nowadays. So, that’s my rant.

That’s that for that news, and I look forward to tuning in tonight to coverage of the NFL Draft.

