Tonight, my thoughts are with Fort McMurray. Just a terrifying and tragic day for people there.

Tonight, my thoughts are about Fort McMurray and the wildfire situation there

I am currently listening to the feeds from Alberta radio stations about the whole situation and about the evacuation of the entire city that happened today. It sounds like there is a lot of damage there. At the very least, there are neighbourhoods destroyed. 

The people escaping the scene were describing it as apocalyptic. And these fires are still not under control. It could get worse tomorrow, if you can believe it. This is a city that was basically the boom town of Canada for the last number of years, the hub of the oil boom. 

Last year, I spent a good chunk of the summer reporting the local angle on the provincial wildfires here in Saskatchewan, as my community was an evacuation centre and the local fire departments were sending some help north. As you know, La Ronge was under a direct threat, and the Saskatchewan evacuation ended up being the largest in this province’s history. But that situation developed over days.This whole situation in Fort McMurray flared up in just a matter of hours. And just like that, it’s the largest evacuation in Alberta history.

I’m still trying to put my thoughts together about this. There was also some other major news tonight out of Indiana, but tonight I don’t feel like talking about Donald Trump. I have all summer to talk about him. 

Here are a few news links on the situation in Fort McMurray: CBC News, CTV News, Global, Corus, the Edmonton Journal and Edmonton Sun. That is it for now.

