Work update: I am “boycotting” the Oscars. I wish I were kidding!

I just thought I would let people know that I have been run off my feet this week with assignments. Too many late nights. Tomorrow is no different. 

I have a heap of sports assignments from morning until night. For that reason I likely won’t even be able to watch any of the red-carpet run up to the Academy Awards and might not even be able to watch the first part of the show! So yes, you can say I am “boycotting the Oscars”, just like these other #OscarsSoWhite protesters are doing tomorrow.

This is probably just as well, as my interest in tomorrow’s “only-whites-get-nominated” Oscar telecast is probably at an all-time low. And not just because of this controversy/travesty that I am mad about like other folks are. I just think the Oscars are elitist in general, and that the most powerful people in Hollywood and a lot of the major stars are absolutely out of touch with the masses. Sorry if I just sounded like a broken record again, but I have felt this way for a long, long time. Hopefully, Chris Rock will go on the Oscar stage tomorrow and really let Hollywood have it. All these folks deserve to be taken down a notch.

The other thing is that my work assignments as of late have basically kept me away from the cinemas, so I haven’t seen any of the Oscar contenders and really have no strong opinions one way or the other on which movies ought to win or lose! 

Anyway, those are my thoughts about tomorrow. Hopefully next year will be different.

Oh, and in political news tonight, Hillary Clinton has clobbered Bernie Sanders in the Democratic South Carolina primary by something like 50 points! Seriously, it really was that big a rout. Bernie ought to quit.

