Marie Henein earning her client’s fees at Jian Ghomeshi trial so far

I have tried to stay informed on the happenings of the Jian Ghomeshi sexual assault trial in Toronto, but given that this case is not being televised it is very hard. As I have said before, Twitter does not measure up for court coverage, but it’s the best we can do in Canada, the land of media restrictions. 

So I have mainly been keeping up on the trial through reading newspaper accounts from Christie Blatchford and the like on the Internet. And also from what little we’ve seen on the TV news.

All I can tell is that the only thing being proved so far in the case against Ghomeshi is that if you ever get in trouble with the law in Toronto you should call Marie Henein.

Henein just did quite the job demolishing the testimony of the first accuser of Ghomeshi, pointing out inconsistency after inconsistency. And it sounds like the second accuser’s testimony is being carved up, too, by Henein. 

From an outsiders’ perspective, it kind of looks like the Crown’s case is going down in flames. Yet to me, Ghomeshi still doesn’t look like he’s an innocent man in all of this.

So I don’t know what is going to happen, ultimately. All in all, I just find this case depressing on a lot of levels. For one thing, the subject matter is sexual assault, which I find distasteful subject matter to begin with. What mainly depresses me, though, is the real possibility we may not see justice served at the end of it all. I suppose we won’t know the answer to that until after this case is over.  

