This is the final weekend for Teletoon Retro. All together: “Aaaargh!”

  

  
Another well-known Canadian cable TV channel is leaving us. Teletoon Retro will be signing off for good during the early hours of Sept. 1. Which means this, unfortunately, is their final weekend on the air.

My own cable carrier will be moving Cartoon Network to the same channel, but I am still not happy. Teletoon Retro was the home of all the classic cartoon shows I grew up watching, like the Looney Tunes, the Flintstones, the Jetsons, Scooby-Doo and so on. 

In fact, one of the prime reasons why I subscribed to my current cable system was the fact they offered Teletoon Retro on the basic tier. So to be honest with you, I’m really quite annoyed.

My buddy Brian Zinchuk was similarly aghast when he heard this news; his Facebook reaction was “Nooooooooooooo!” 

I will say, though, Teletoon Retro was allowed to go downhill the past couple of years. Instead of showing more Warner Bros. and Hanna-Barbera stuff, they’ve been running a lot of Eighties and Nineties junk that I’m not the least bit interested in (ie. the Care Bears). No wonder this channel is being shut down.

This news has me seriously thinking again about whether to “cut the cord.” The end of Teletoon Retro is one less reason to keep cable. Not impressed, but I guess I’m too old to be watching cartoons anyway. 

