Thoughts on the weekend box office for San Andreas, and other movie news

  

It has been a while since I posted here on the movie box office. Well, this weekend San Andreas, that earthquake disaster movie starring Dwayne Johnson, cleaned up with a weekend domestic box office haul of $54.6 million and an international haul of $63 million. 

I haven’t see it yet, but I figured it would be a hit, simply because earthquakes have been in the news often enough over the last several years. Besides, if there is one thing that is guaranteed to freak people out, it’s earthquakes. 

So it looks like at least one of my predictions for the Top 10 of the summer might come true. As for the rest of my prognostications, well, they aren’t looking so hot. I had predicted Mad Max: Fury Road to finish in the Top Ten for the summer. And maybe it still might, But its opening weekend haul was $45 mil when it rolled out two weekends ago. Meanwhile, Pitch Perfect 2 finished way ahead of it at $69 million! So I did not see that one coming at all.

Then last weekend was Memorial Day weekend and all the talk was about the miserable performance of Tomorrowland at $41.7 mil, and how it was the worst Memorial Day weekend box office in years. People are acting as if they are surprised, but quite honestly I really didn’t think much of this movie to begin with. 

Despite a few hiccups, then, the summer blockbuster box office season is unfolding much as I thought it would with The Avengers: Age of Ultron already at $427 million in North American box office, well ahead of Furious 7 for the best haul so far in 2015.

As for this week, it promises to be another crowded one at the multiplexes as Entourage debuts on Wednesday and Spy with Melissa McCarthy, and Insidious Chapter 3 both roll out on Friday. 

Tough competition, indeed. Based on these new releases alone, I really do think it could be “one and done” at the top of the box office standings for “The Rock”. We’ll see. 

