If you have a chance, make a point of tuning in to David Letterman’s final month of Late Shows

 

After getting out of the habit of watching The Late Show with David Letterman over the past while, I thought I had better get back into it for at least one month — because this is going to be it, the end of an era, with May 20 being the final night for the show on CBS.

The guest list includes some big and familiar names. Steve Martin. Howard Stern. Bill Murray. Michael Keaton. George Clooney. Oprah Winfrey. Last night I noticed he had his old buddy Tom Dreesen on, and he’s been on Letterman’s shows for years. So, anyway, I thought I would mention this. This is television history here, something we haven’t seen the likes of since Johnny Carson left in 1992. (Of course, Jay Leno left his show multiple times, which dulled the impact of his leaving.)

Also, I am starting to realize I probably have blown my opportunity for all time to go to New York and be in the studio audience at the Ed Sullivan Theater for The Late Show with David Letterman. Just like I blew my chance to be in the studio audience for The Tonight Show Starring Johnny Carson. 

The closest I ever came to being in the audience for Carson was the day we visited the set during the NBC studio tour in Burbank years ago. And of course, I never got back there because I never had the time or any money, which are the exact same reasons I’m not going to see Letterman’s show live.

As an aside, I just want to mention that based on the few shows I’ve seen this week, James Corden is crushing it on the Late Late Show. At the very least, he’s already killing Seth Meyers over on the other channel. So who knows, maybe one day I might see his show in the studio audience.

