Last word from me on my latest recent hockey coverage

 

And now, the sports. 

For the past couple of nights I was back on the hockey beat covering the Sask Prairie league finals. On Friday, I was at the Civic Centre where the Meota Combines beat the Hafford Hawks 5-4 in overtime to force Game 5. Then last night at Battleford Arena, the Hawks’ temporary home for the finals, it was Hafford who won the deciding game 2-1 and won the Cup, as you can see here. 

I should also note the teams lined up and shook hands at centre ice after this game, which is not a given in this league. A couple of years ago in the Finals, teams erupted into a huge bench clearing brawl at the end of the game before the Cup was presented, and they didn’t bother shaking hands! 

No doubt, this league is not high-level hockey. But it is “home-town hockey” and it is entertaining, and there were big crowds and lots of people interested in this series and in coverage of it. 

I anticipate that is it for my hockey coverage this season, as the Battlefords North Stars were swept by Kindersley in the SJHL playoffs, and it will be our main sports reporter who is covering the Midget AAA finals between Battlefords Stars and Regina Pat Canadians. 

As for me, maybe some sanity can finally return to my life over the coming weeks. 

