The last word on my attendance at the SUMA Convention in Saskatoon

IMG_0131
As you could tell looking at my Twitter feed, I was at the Saskatchewan Urban Municipalities Association convention in Saskatoon yesterday, which was great because it got me out of the Battlefords.

I had hoped to cover the live keynote speech of political columnist Chantal Hebert at the convention but it turned out to be a bit of a flop. First of all, eastern Canada was snowed under and flights got cancelled, so she couldn’t make it in live. So the organizers tried a Skype feed, pictured here, and that proved a dud because the sound quality was terrible. It was just fits and starts, you couldn’t figure out what the speaker was saying. Then, they tried to have her use a telephone, which worked for a little while before that gave out as well. So the whole presentation ended early, which disappointed a lot of people.

Also, I tried taking pictures with my iPad all day and tried putting those up on Twitter, but that effort went about as well as Chantal Hebert’s presentation did — maybe worse. Let’s simply say that despite all the advances in technology, it still is not where it needs to be in this day and age.

I had a long day in Saskatoon, and then right after I returned to the Battlefords I was up filing stories late into the evening. Let’s say it was a heavy day for news. Now, I must head off, again, to cover a Chamber of Commerce dinner event to swear in the new President, when what I really want to do is get some sleep. Such is life on the treadmill.

