Work update: busy weekend covering sports in the Northwest region again

Uh, hi, folks. The reason I have been MIA for the past few days has been because I have been busy covering sports, mostly hockey.

Tonight, I am writing the story on the Battlefords North Stars road trip to the southeast, which means listening to the radio and looking at the score sheets online while I write something up. Tonight they are playing Estevan Bruins and the game is boring so far, with no scoring.

On Friday I covered a game in the Saskatchewan Prairie Hockey League, or SPHL. It’s senior hockey, but I like to call it the Good Ol’ Boys League because that’s what it really is — rough and tumble hockey with plenty of fights. Anyway, Meota beat Spiritwood 11-3.

Then on Saturday I was totally busy. Not only did I cover the Midget AAA female hockey game between Battleford Sharks and the Prince Albert A&W Bears at Battleford Arena, but earlier in the day I drove out to Cut Knife to cover the nomination meeting for the federal Liberals in Battlefords-Lloydminster. You can read that story here.

So anyway, the bottom line is I have been busy, but I have been able to catch the NFL games today, including that crazy finish in Seattle. Now fans of the Green Bay Packers know exactly what life is like for Saskatchewan Roughriders fans, because that was bad, folks.

That is it for now, I have an SJHL hockey story to finish.

