US election final thoughts, and a few links to my own political coverage

I don’t have a lot to add about the US election. I stayed up late to watch the coverage from the Boston TV stations, but Democrat Martha Coakley refused to concede in the Mass. governor’s race because it was so close, so we ended up getting a subdued “non-victory victory speech” from Republican Charlie Baker instead. Finally, the Coakley campaign at long last conceded today. Anyway, that’s it for that.

Watching that governor’s race coverage on TV, and also all that Toronto election coverage just a week earlier, my thought was “gee, I wish I were a political reporter!”

Then I remembered — technically, I am one, too. But it’s easy for me to forget that, because (a) I’m not based in the capital and (b) in addition to my politics beat I waste a lot of time covering other stories, such as crime and other topics that depress the local citizenry.

So, here’s a look at some of the political stories I have been doing over the past couple of weeks, just to cheer myself up:

I did an interview with our local MP Gerry Ritz about his experience during the Ottawa shootings Oct. 22, and a story is also up where I spoke to Sask. Party government whip Herb Cox about the Speech from the Throne delivered that very same afternoon, under tight security in Regina.

Also, I was at a Herb Cox local political fundraiser in Battleford that provincial education minister Don Morgan was also at. From that came this story about some of the reaction to the shootings in Ottawa.

It was actually a pretty good event, too — the music was good and there were friends of mine there as well from the newspaper.

Also, in the interest of equal time, I was on a conference call with Saskatchewan NDP leader Cam Broten just before the legislature’s fall sitting opened, and that story is here.

Other than that brush with terrorism in Ottawa two weeks ago, there is very little going on with politics here at the moment. As a result, I have concentrated on other things, like hockey coverage. Elections are still some distance into the future, so not much is happening with that. As for municipal politics, council meeting agendas have been so lacklustre that this week’s meeting in the town of Battleford lasted a grand total of just over 15 minutes, while next week’s scheduled meeting in North Battleford has actually been cancelled.

So I guess maybe that’s why I kind of envy these Boston and, for that matter, Washington political reporters, because they are enjoying all the excitement right now.

